It is with great sadness that we have recently learned of the passing of a long-time CAMMAC member, Maureen Carpenter. We’d like to extend our sincerest condolences to Maureen’s husband Graham, as well as all her family and friends.

Maureen Carpenter 01

MAUREEN CARPENTER

1938-2021

Maureen died peacefully at the Civic Hospital on November 10, aged 83, having been diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease) in early summer. As her illness progressed, she retained her strong spirit, remaining at home until the day before she died.

Maureen was born in the Rhondda Valley, Wales and her formative years were spent in nearby Cardiff. After high school she became a public servant, later meeting her devoted future husband Graham at a community dance. She selected Graham in the crowded hall because he could dance as well as she could! They were married in 1963. A joint sense of adventure led them to Canada in 1967 where Graham worked as a research scientist at the Chalk River Nuclear Laboratories. Soon after, Maureen joined the personnel department at the laboratories. She was later admitted to Carleton University in a Masters program, graduating in 1982. They moved to Ottawa in 1981 where Maureen worked for twenty years on the development of national mortality and cancer data files at Statistics Canada, retiring in 2002.

Maureen came from a musical family and studied piano in her youth. After they moved to Deep River her interest in music developed and she and Graham joined the local Choral Society, singing major oratorios and taking part in Broadway musicals. In Ottawa, Maureen joined the Ottawa Choral Society (OCS) in 1983 and continued as an active member, serving on the Board in various capacities until the pandemic halted activities. She was also a founder member of the “Statistics Canada Choir”. In recent years she returned to her Welsh roots and sang with a group of Welsh friends in their native language. They performed at various local and provincial Welsh events and also gave concerts locally and entertained at seniors’ homes.

She was a very active participant and supporter of Canadian Amateur Musicians (CAMMAC), helping organize “Come Sing Messiah” for many years. The annual holidays at Lake MacDonald in the summer and Thanksgiving in the fall, were a highlight, where she and Graham were known for their “Happy Hour” gatherings as well as their enthusiastic participation in the many musical happenings!

Maureen and Graham Carpenter on a visit to Montréal.

“Maureen Carpenter was the first of my many honorary CAMMAC grandmothers. Maureen and Graham never talked down to me when I was a kid, always treating me as a friend and equal. Being invited to join their wine and cheese happy hour in the campground when I was 11 or 12 is an indelible happy memory—as is, much later on, singing Welsh hymns with Maureen at cabaret. Maureen and Graham were such a unit (how could one forget their matching CAMMAC sweatshirts and Tilley’s hats?), and I can’t imagine what Graham is going through. Maureen was such a genuinely lovely person, and we will all miss her tremendously.”

– Anastasia Llewellyn

 

“Dear, dear Maureen… always smiling, enjoying every moment (classes, choir rehearsals, activities, meals and of course, Happy Hours!) in good company, at Lake MacDonald. I call them “The Ottawa Gang”: they sing together, they travel together, and they don’t miss one occasion to join these two activities. How much fun they had taking part of Festival 50 in St. John’s, Newfoundland or attending the International String Quartet Festival in Banff.

I miss Maureen already. And I’ll miss those challenging conference phone calls with Maureen and Graham sitting in opposite rooms of their house, situated near a Lake in Ottawa. I look at the beautiful pictures taken at Maureen & Graham’s 50th wedding anniversary, where they invited me to play a short piano recital (Mozart, Mendelssohn, Chopin and Albeniz). Miss you Maureen…”

– Anne-Marie Denoncourt

Maureen will be greatly missed by her husband Graham, relatives in Wales, and her vast circle of friends – especially her CAMMAC friends. In accordance with her wishes, her ashes will be re-located at Cardiff Thornhill Cemetery (Wales). A musical celebration of her life is planned for the New Year. Donations are welcomed for the ALS Society, the OCS or CAMMAC.

C’est avec une grande tristesse que nous avons récemment appris le décès d’un membre de longue date de CAMMAC, Maureen Carpenter. Nous tenons à offrir nos plus sincères condoléances à son mari, Graham, ainsi qu’à sa famille et ses proches.

Maureen Carpenter 01

MAUREEN CARPENTER

1938-2021

Maureen est décédée paisiblement à l’hôpital Civic le 10 novembre, à l’âge de 83 ans, après avoir été diagnostiquée de la SLA (maladie de Lou Gehrig) au début de l’été. Au fur et à mesure que sa maladie progressait, elle a gardé son esprit tenace, demeurant à la maison jusqu’à la veille de son décès.

Maureen est née dans la vallée de Rhondda, au Pays de Galles, et a passé sa jeunesse dans la ville avoisinante, Cardiff. Après l’école secondaire, elle a pris un poste de fonctionnaire fonctionnaire et a rencontré son futur mari dévoué, Graham, lors d’un bal communautaire. Elle choisit Graham dans la salle bondée parce qu’il savait danser aussi bien qu’elle! Ils se sont mariés en 1963. Un sens commun de l’aventure les conduit au Canada en 1967, où Graham travaille comme chercheur scientifique aux laboratoires nucléaires de Chalk River. Peu après, Maureen a rejoint le service des ressources humaines des laboratoires. Elle est ensuite admise à l’Université Carleton dans un programme de maîtrise, dont elle sort diplômée en 1982. Ils ont déménagé à Ottawa en 1981 où Maureen a travaillé pendant vingt ans à l’élaboration de fichiers nationaux de données sur la mortalité et le cancer à Statistique Canada, prenant sa retraite en 2002.

Maureen est issue d’une famille de musiciens et a étudié le piano dans sa jeunesse. Après leur déménagement à Deep River, elle a développé un intérêt pour la musique, et elle et Graham se sont joints à la société chorale locale, chantant dans les oratorios et participant aux comédies musicales Broadway. À Ottawa, Maureen s’est jointe à l’Ottawa Choral Society (OCS) en 1983 et est restée un membre actif, siégeant au conseil d’administration à divers titres jusqu’à ce que la pandémie mette fin aux activités. Elle a également été l’un des membres fondateurs de la «Chorale de Statistique Canada». Ces dernières années, elle est revenue à ses racines galloises et a chanté avec un groupe d’amis gallois dans leur langue maternelle. Ils se sont produits à l’occasion de divers événements gallois locaux et provinciaux, ont donné des concerts locaux et se sont produits dans des foyers pour personnes âgées.

Elle était une participante et une partisane très active des Musiciens amateurs canadiens (CAMMAC), aidant à organiser «Come Sing Messiah» pendant de nombreuses années. Les vacances annuelles au lac MacDonald, en été, et à l’Action de grâce, en automne, ont été des moments bien importants, pendant lesquels elle et Graham étaient reconnus autant pour leurs rencontres «Happy Hour» que pour leur participation enthousiaste aux nombreux événements musicaux!

Maureen et Graham Carpenter lors d’une visite à Montréal.

«Maureen Carpenter était la toute première de mes grands-mères honoraires à CAMMAC. Maureen et Graham ne me parlaient jamais de manière condescendante, et me traitaient comme une amie et leur paire même quand j’étais enfant. L’heureux souvenir d’avoir été invitée à leur 5 à 7 vins et fromages au camping à l’âge de 11 ou 12 ans reste indélébile—tout comme, beaucoup plus tard, celui d’avoir chanté des hymnes gallois au cabaret avec Maureen. Maureen et Graham étaient tellement en unison (comment oublier leurs cotons ouatés signés CAMMAC et leurs chapeaux Tilley’s coordonnés ?), et je ne peux imaginer ce que vit Graham. Maureen était une personne si sincèrement charmante—elle va tous nous manquer énormément.»

– Anastasia Llewellyn

 

«Très chère Maureen… toujours souriante, profitant de chaque moment (cours, répétitions de la chorale, activités, repas et bien sûr, les 5 à 7!) en bonne compagnie, au lac MacDonald. Je les appelle «La Gang d’Ottawa»: ils chantent ensemble, ils voyagent ensemble, et ils ne manquent jamasis une occasion de combiner ces deux activités. Quel plaisir ils ont eu à participer au Festival 50 à St. John’s, Terre-Neuve, ou à assister au Festival international de quatuors à cordes à Banff.

Maureen me manque déjà. Ces conférences téléphoniques difficiles avec Maureen et Graham, assis dans des pièces opposées de leur maison, située près d’un lac à Ottawa, vont me manquer aussi. Je regarde les magnifiques photos prises lors du 50e anniversaire de mariage de Maureen et Graham, où ils m’ont invité à jouer un court récital de piano (Mozart, Mendelssohn, Chopin et Albeniz). Tu me manquera Maureen…»

– Anne-Marie Denoncourt

Maureen laisse dans le deuil son mari Graham, les membres de sa famille au pays de Galles et son vaste cercle d’amis – surtout ses amis de CAMMAC. Conformément à ses souhaits, ses cendres seront relocalisées au cimetière Thornhill de Cardiff (Pays de Galles). Une célébration musicale de sa vie est prévue pour le Nouvel An. Les dons sont les bienvenus pour la Société de la SLA, l’OCS ou CAMMAC.