Andrew McAnerney was raised in the British choral tradition and studied music at the University of Oxford (Magdalen College). He has enjoyed a varied career as a conductor, consort singer, soloist and arranger. Since moving to Canada in 2013, Andrew has worked with a range of professional choirs and orchestras including Arion Baroque Orchestra, National Arts Centre Orchestra, Chamber Players of Canada, Elmer Iseler Singers, Elora Singers, Chœur Louisbourg and La Rose des Vents. Andrew was appointed artistic director of the Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal in 2015.

A former Tallis Scholar, Andrew McAnerney has performed with many of Europe’s finest early music ensembles and is credited on over 50 recordings including the music of Bach, Brumel, Clemens non Papa, Crequillon, Gombert, Handel, Lotti, Morales, Moulu, Mozart, Palestrina, Phinot, Purcell and Rore. Andrew’s début CD with the Studio Laudate dominum, featuring music by Lassus, was released by ATMA classic in 2017.

Andrew is passionate about musical excellence and accessibility. He regularly prepares his own early music performance scores from original sources, and is fascinated with presenting rediscovered works.

Formé dans la grande tradition chorale britannique, Andrew McAnerney a étudié la musique à l’Université d’Oxford (Collège Magdalen). Il mène une carrière florissante en tant que directeur musical, choriste, soliste et arrangeur. Depuis son arrivée au Canada en 2013, M. McAnerney a travaillé avec de nombreux chœurs et orchestres professionnels, notamment Arion orchestre baroque, L’orchestre du Centre national des arts, les Chambristes du Canada, les Elmer Iseler Singers, les Elora Singers, le Chœur Louisbourg et La Rose des Vents. Andrew McAnerney dirige le Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal depuis 2015.

Ancien membre des Tallis Scholars et de quelques-uns des ensembles vocaux les plus réputés d’Europe, Andrew McAnerney a participé à plus de cinquante enregistrements d’œuvres, notamment, de maîtres connus et moins connus de la Renaissance et du Baroque. Son premier disque avec le Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal présente des œuvres chorales de Roland de Lassus réunies sous le nom Laudate Dominum. Il est paru en mars 2017 sous étiquette Atma Classique.

Visant les plus hauts standards, Andrew McAnerney cultive sa passion pour l’excellence et l’accessibilité musicales. Il prépare régulièrement ses propres partitions à partir de leurs sources originales et s’intéresse tout particulièrement à faire revivre des chefs-d’œuvre oubliés.