Annette Bauer is a recorder player and multi-instrumentalist. Born and raised in Germany, she holds a diploma in medieval and Renaissance music from the Schola Cantorum in Basel, Switzerland (2001), and an MA in music from the University of California in Santa Cruz (2004).

From 2001-2012 she called the San Francisco Bay area her home. There, she studied North Indian classical music on sarode, a 24-stringed lute, with her teacher Ali Akbar Khan, and performed and recorded with early music groups all over the United States, including Piffaro, Texas Early Music Project, Magnificat, medieval ensemble Cançonièr, Baroque ensemble Les Graces, and Farallon Recorder Quartet, as well as her own modal crossover project The Lost Mode. From 2012-2020, she spent eight years touring the world as a musician for the Cirque du Soleil show TOTEM.

Annette is now making a new home with her partner and young daughter in Montréal. She is currently sharing her love of music by offering online instruction to students of all ages in her private studio, including an ongoing class on 14th-16th-century notation through Amherst Early Music, as well as teaching workshops for the American Recorder Society. In 2023, Annette became the new director for the recorder workshop of the San Francisco Early Music Society. In 2024, she will also serve as the music director for NAVRS, the North American Virtual Recorder Society.

In Montreal, Annette has collaborated with choreographer Sarah Dell’Ava, and performed with medieval Ensemble Scholastica. In the early spring of 2023, Annette spent six weeks as returning recorder resident at the Sitka Center for Art and Ecology in Oregon, where she composed and improvised music inspired by the visual beauty of nature, and worked on her pipe and tabor, double recorder, and bagpipe skills. The same season, she was also selected to participate in the WestBen performer-composer residency in Ontario. She is also on the roster of ELAN (English Language and Arts Network) as a teaching artist working with students in the Quebec school system.

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/annettebauer
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@annettebauermusic
Instagram: @annettebauermusic
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100093976200016

Annette Bauer est flûtiste à bec et multi-instrumentiste. Née et élevée en Allemagne, elle est titulaire d’un diplôme en musique médiévale et de la Renaissance de la Schola Cantorum de Bâle, en Suisse (2001), et d’une maîtrise en musique de l’Université de Californie à Santa Cruz (2004).

De 2001 à 2012, elle s’est installée dans la région de la baie de San Francisco. Elle y a étudié la musique classique de l’Inde du Nord au sarode, un luth à 24 cordes, avec son professeur Ali Akbar Khan, et a joué et enregistré avec des groupes de musique ancienne dans tous les États-Unis, notamment Piffaro, Texas Early Music Project, Magnificat, l’ensemble médiéval Cançonièr, l’ensemble baroque Les Graces et le Farallon Recorder Quartet, ainsi qu’avec son propre projet de crossover modal The Lost Mode. De 2012 à 2020, elle a passé huit ans à parcourir le monde en tant que musicienne pour le spectacle TOTEM du Cirque du Soleil.

Annette s’est installée à Montréal avec son conjoint et sa petite fille. Elle partage actuellement son amour de la musique en offrant des cours en ligne à des étudiants de tous âges dans son studio privé, y compris un cours permanent sur la notation du 14e au 16e siècle par l’intermédiaire d’Amherst Early Music, ainsi que des ateliers pour l’American Recorder Society. En 2023, Annette est devenue la nouvelle directrice de l’atelier de flûte à bec de la San Francisco Early Music Society. En 2024, elle sera également directrice musicale de la NAVRS, la North American Virtual Recorder Society.

À Montréal, Annette a collaboré avec la chorégraphe Sarah Dell’Ava et s’est produite avec l’Ensemble médiéval Scholastica. Au début du printemps 2023, Annette a passé six semaines en tant que résidente de flûte à bec de retour au Sitka Center for Art and Ecology en Oregon, où elle a composé et improvisé de la musique inspirée par la beauté visuelle de la nature, et a travaillé ses compétences en matière de pipe et de tabor, de double flûte à bec et de cornemuse. La même saison, elle a également été sélectionnée pour participer à la résidence d’interprète-compositeur WestBen en Ontario. Elle figure également sur la liste d’ELAN (English Language and Arts Network) en tant qu’artiste enseignante travaillant avec des élèves du système scolaire québécois.

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/annettebauer
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@annettebauermusic
Instagram: @annettebauermusic
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100093976200016