Guylaine Lemaire

Artistic Director at CAMMAC since 2017, with a career spanning more than 20 years, Guylaine Lemaire is a renowned violinist and violist, and an experienced arts administrator. She has performed with many of Canada’s finest musicians, ensembles and orchestras, and has appeared at virtually every major Canadian festival including the Festival de Lanaudière, Festival of the Sound, Festival de musique de Lachine, Musique de chambre à Ste-Pétronille, Festival international du Domaine Forget, The Banff Centre, Festival Canada at the National Arts Centre and the Music and Beyond Festival in Ottawa.

Her recordings with the Chamber Players of Canada have all received strong acclaim in Canada and abroad, and are heard regularly on the radio. She has performed across Canada and around the world with the National Arts Centre Orchestra in their first violin, second violin and viola sections. She has also performed and toured with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra and with the chamber orchestra, Thirteen Strings. In 2013, Guylaine Lemaire was named Executive Director of Thirteen Strings, one of Canada’s few professional chamber orchestras. In addition, she has also served as the Director of Artistic Planning for the orchestra since December 2023.

Guylaine is much in demand as a committee member for juries at the Canada Council for the Arts and the Ontario Arts Council. She is married to cellist Julian Armour, who is Artistic and Executive Director of the Music and Beyond Festival in Ottawa, and adjunct professor at the Sprott School of Business at Carleton University, where he teaches a course on “Managing the Arts”. They have a busy household with their four sons: Francis, Pascal, Mathis and Philippe.

Guylaine Lemaire

Directrice artistique à CAMMAC depuis 2017 et cumulant plus de 20 ans de carrière, Guylaine Lemaire est une violoniste et altiste reconnu, ainsi qu’une administratrice artistique d’expérience. Elle s’est produite avec plusieurs des meilleurs musiciens, ensembles et orchestres du Canada et elle a participé à la plupart des grands festivals de musique du Canada, dont le Festival de Lanaudière, Festival of the Sound, le Festival de musique de Lachine, Musique de chambre à Ste-Pétronille, le Festival international du Domaine Forget, le Festival du Centre d’art de Banff, Festival Canada au Centre national des Arts et le Festival Musique et Autres Mondes à Ottawa.

Ses enregistrements avec les Chambristes du Canada ont fait les éloges de la critique tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger. On peut les entendre fréquemment à la radio. Elle a également pris part aux tournées canadiennes et internationales de l’Orchestre du Centre National des Arts dans les sections des premiers violons, deuxièmes violons et d’altos. Elle a aussi joué avec l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal et avec l’orchestre de chambre Thirteen Strings. En 2013, Guylaine Lemaire a été nommée Directrice générale de Thirteen Strings, l’un des quelques orchestres de chambre professionnels au Canada. Depuis décembre 2023, elle est aussi Directrice de la planification artistique de l’orchestre.

Guylaine est très en demande comme membre de comités pour différents jurys au Conseil des Arts du Canada et au Conseil des Arts de l’Ontario. Elle est mariée au violoncelliste Julian Armour, directeur général et artistique du Festival Musique et Autres Mondes à Ottawa, et aussi professeur adjoint à la Sprott School of Business de l’université Carleton où il enseigne le cours “Managing the Arts”. Ils ont une vie familiale très active avec leurs quatre fils : Francis, Pascal, Mathis et Philippe.