Marie-Claire Saindon is a Franco-Ontarian composer based in Montréal. She is composer-in-residence for Chœur Adleisia, runs creative choral/vocal workshops, and enjoys teaching Irish fiddling. She currently writes choral, chamber, and orchestral commissions and creates film and multimedia scores. Her other collaborative experiences span from accompanying dancers to fiddling in a team of folk musicians on a historical steam train.

Notable commissioners of Marie-Claire’s music include l’Orchestre Métropolitain (Montréal), Voces Nordicae (Sweden), Elektra Women’s Choir (Vancouver), and the 2019 Women’s/SSAA Choirs Competition Consortium of the American Choral Directors Association. Her music has been performed in many countries, continents, and contexts, from local community performances to the World Symposium on Choral Music (Istanbul, 2023). Her film scores can be found on documentaries hosted on CBC Gem and Radio-Canada.

Recipient of multiple composition prizes (such as the 2013 SOCAN Young Composers’ National Awards in the vocal category), Ms. Saindon holds a BMus from the Schulich School of Music (McGill, 2007) and an MMus from Université de Montréal (2010).
Ms. Saindon is published through Boosey & Hawkes, Cypress Choral Music, Hal Leonard Choral, Earthsongs Choral Music, and Alliance Music Publications, and her self-published works are distributed through MusicSpoke and her own website, www.marieclairesaindon.com

Compositrice franco-ontarienne installée à Montréal, Marie-Claire Saindon est compositrice-en-résidence du Chœur Adleisia. Elle compose aussi pour de petits et grands ensembles, anime des ateliers de création chorale, crée des bandes sonores pour films et projets multimédias, et enseigne le violon traditionnel irlandais. Ses expériences collaboratives incluent entre autres l’accompagnement de danseurs et l’interprétation de musiques traditionnelles dans un train à vapeur historique.

Mme Saindon compte parmi ses collaborateurs l’Orchestre Métropolitain (Montréal), Voces Nordicae (Suède), Elektra Women’s Choir (Vancouver), l’Alliance des chorales du Québec et l’American Choral Directors’ Association (ACDA). Ses compositions ont été interprétées dans plusieurs pays, continents, et contextes, allant de concerts locaux au World Symposium on Choral Music (Istanbul, 2023). Sa musique de film peut être retrouvée chez CBC Gem et Radio-Canada.

Lauréate de plusieurs prix de compositions, dont le Prix national des jeunes compositeurs de la SOCAN dans la catégorie vocale (2013), Mme Saindon est titulaire d’un BMus de l’École de musique Schulich (McGill, 2007) et d’un MMus de l’Université de Montréal (2010).

Les œuvres de Mme Saindon sont publiées chez Boosey & Hawkes, Cypress Choral Music, Hal Leonard Choral, Earthsongs Choral Music, et Alliance Music Publications, et ses œuvres auto-publiées peuvent être retrouvées chez MusicSpoke et sur son site web, www.marieclairesaindon.com