Pierre Pare-Blais

Artistic Direction | Gamelan Giri Kedaton

 

Pierre Paré-Blais first studied physical theater at Marianopolis College. Following his studies, in 2005, he travelled to Bali with the Dell’Arte International School of Physical Theatre to study mask dance (topeng) and shadow theater (wayang kulit). It was there that he discovered Balinese music, when one of his teachers, learning of his affinity with music, offered to teach him to play the gender (the instrument that accompanies shadow theater). During this first trip, Pierre studied with great Balinese masters such as I Anom Putra (dance) and I Wayan Mardika and I Kadek Budi Setiawan (wayang kulit and gender). On his return to Montreal, he discovered the gamelan workshop while studying electroacoustic composition at the Université de Montréal’s Faculty of Music, in 2007. Almost immediately, he joined the Giri Kedaton group, which for several years will enable him to keep alive the powerful bond and important influence Bali had on his artistic development during that first trip. In 2016, Pierre succeeded Éric Vandal and Nino Gabrielli as the group’s artistic director. Pierre is also a stage director and teaches acting in the professional training program at the École de cirque de Verdun. Over the years, Pierre has had the opportunity to study with many of the great Balinese masters, including I Dewa Made Suparta, I Putu Arya Deva Suryanegara, I Made Terip, I Gusti Ketut, and many others.

 

The Giri Kedaton Gamelan at a glance:

The Giri Kedaton Balinese Music Ensemble, in residence at the Université de Montréal, is one of the few active gamelans in Canada. The gamelan is a percussion orchestra of gongs, metallophones and drums from the island of Bali, Indonesia. The spectacular beauty of the instruments, the sparkling timbre of their bronze tones, and the superb choreography make a Giri Kedaton performance a fascinating experience.

Giri Kedaton brings together some twenty musicians who, in addition to their passion for Balinese music, are driven by the collective ideal that characterizes the spirit of the gamelan. Giri Kedaton also has 3 female dancers and 1 male dancer, all trained in Bali by the great masters, who accompany the group during its performances.

Pierre Pare-Blais
Direction artistique | Gamelan Giri Kedaton

Pierre Paré-Blais étudie d’abord le théâtre physique au Cégep Marianopolis. C’est à la suite de ses études, en 2005, qu’il se rend à Bali avec le Dell’Arte International School of Physical Theatre pour y étudier les danses de masque (topeng) et le théâtre d’ombres (wayang kulit). C’est là qu’il découvre la musique balinaise, alors que l’un de ses professeurs, apprenant son affinité avec la musique, lui offre de lui apprendre à jouer du gender (instrument qui accompagne le théâtre d’ombres). Durant ce premier voyage, Pierre étudie avec de grands maîtres balinais comme I Anom Putra (danse) et I Wayan Mardika et I Kadek Budi Setiawan (wayang kulit et gender). À son retour à Montréal, il découvre l’atelier de gamelan alors qu’il entame des études en composition électroacoustique à la faculté de musique de l’Université de Montréal, en 2007. Il se joint presque aussitôt au groupe Giri Kedaton, qui lui permettra pendant plusieurs années de garder vivant le puissant lien et l’importante influence qu’aura eue Bali sur son développement artistique lors de ce premier voyage. En 2016, Pierre succède à Éric Vandal et Nino Gabrielli comme directeur artistique du groupe. Pierre est également metteur en scène et enseigne le jeu théâtral dans le programme de formation professionnelle de l’École de cirque de Verdun. Au fils des années Pierre a eu la chance d’etudier avec plusieurs grands maitres balinais comme I Dewa Made Suparta, I Putu Arya Deva Suryanegara, I Made Terip, I Gusti Ketut, et plusieurs autres.

 

Le gamealn Giri Kedaton en bref:

L’Ensemble de musique balinaise Giri Kedaton, en résidence à l’Université de Montréal, est l’un des rares gamelans actifs au Canada. Le gamelan est un orchestre de percussions, comprenant gongs, métallophones et tambours, provenant de l’île de Bali, en Indonésie. La beauté spectaculaire des instruments, le timbre étincelant de leurs notes de bronze, de même que les superbes chorégraphies, font d’une représentation de Giri Kedaton une expérience fascinante.

Giri Kedaton regroupe une vingtaine de musiciens qui, en plus d’être mordus de musique balinaise, sont animés par l’idéal collectif qui caractérise l’esprit du gamelan. Giri Kedaton, compte également parmi ses membres 3 danseuses et 1 danseur, tous formées à Bali auprès des grands maîtres, qui accompagnent le groupe lors des prestations.