Sébastien Groulx, originally from the Gatineau region, began guitar lessons at the age of ten. From the age of fifteen to 25, he studied classical guitar with Patrick Roux. At the age of seventeen, he began teaching guitar privately. He became a member of the group Intersection, with whom he played on Parliament Hill as part of the Canada Day celebrations.

While studying classical guitar, he won the Scott Bursary, enabling him to perform at Place des Arts.

From 1996 to 2005, he was a founding member, guitarist, composer, arranger and musical director of the Théodore Fontaine group. With this group, he obtained a record contract with Mille-pattes productions (Bottine Souriante) and co-produced their album with Hugo Perreault (Okoumé, Richard Séguin). The group played a number of major venues in Quebec and Ontario, and appeared several times on Radio-Canada television.

In 1994, Sébastien perfected his jazz interpretation skills at CÉGEP St-Laurent, then went on to earn a Bachelor’s degree in music education at UQAM.

For several years now, he has been teaching guitar and ukulele at primary school level for the Laval school board, and working on a solo career as singer-songwriter and arranger for the group SIG ATOM.

Sébastien Groulx, originaire de la région de Gatineau, a débuté ses cours de guitare à l’âge de dix ans. De l’âge de quinze ans jusqu’à 25 ans, il étudie la guitare classique auprès de Patrick Roux. Dès l’âge de dix-sept ans, il commence à enseigner la guitare en cours privés. Il devient membre du groupe Intersection avec lequel il a joué sur la colline parlementaire dans le cadre des célébrations de la fête du Canada.

Lors de ses études en guitare classique, il a gagné la bourse Scott lui permettant ainsi de se produire à la Place des Arts.

De 1996 à 2005, il devient membre fondateur, guitariste, compositeur, arrangeur et directeur musical du groupe Théodore Fontaine. Avec ce groupe, il obtient un contrat de disques avec les productions Mille-pattes (Bottine Souriante) et co-réalise leur disque avec Hugo Perreault (Okoumé, Richard Séguin). Le groupe évolue sur plusieurs grandes scènes du Québec et de l’Ontario, et passe à plusieurs reprises à la télévision de Radio-Canada pour des prestations.

En 1994, Sébastien se perfectionne en interprétation jazz au CÉGEP St-Laurent et par la suite obtient un bac en enseignement de la musique à l’UQAM.

Depuis plusieurs années, il enseigne la guitare et le ukulélé au primaire pour la commission scolaire de Laval et travaille sur une carrière solo en tant qu’auteur-compositeur-interprète et arrangeur du groupe SIG ATOM.